VMware Cloud Community
combsct
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vMotion between hosts on different subnets

Before we start, I'm a Network Engineer, not a Server Guru, so please bare with me Smiley Happy

Is it possible to vMotion a VM, from a host on one IP network, to another host, on a different IP network?

Example:

Datacenter 1 - ESX Server 10.1.1.1/24 with VM's in the 10.1.2.0/24

Same City, different site, 10 Gb fiber link between facilities 2ms latency

Datacenter 2 - ESX Server 10.2.1.1/24 with VM's in the 10.2.2.0/24

Scenario:

vMotion a VM from the 10.1.2.0/24 network, to the 10.2.2.0/24 network where the VM, upon arrival on the Datacenter 2 ESX server, now uses a 10.2.2.0/24 IP address.

Any guidence toward a whitepaper or guide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all for your time.

-Chris

Network Engineer

Press Ganey Associates

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
bulletprooffool
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

vMotion is possible between hosts on different subnets, but unless your PortGroups presented to the VMs are on the same subnets, you'll end up dropping the VM on a different VLAN and IP addressing will fail.

There are ways around this, you could script the IP change / present multiple IPs to the VM / or use DHCP reservations, but you'll need to ensure that DNS records etc are updated.

If you have some sort of load balancer, you could in theory load balance accross 2 IPs hosted on the same VM, to resolve network ip issues, though ultimately, you'll want a stretched VLAN to cover VM port groups.

Good luck

One day I will virtualise myself . . .

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

assuming all networking is setup exact on both source and destination ESX Hosts, yes you can vMotion.  If the proper networking is not setup, you'll receive an error message when trying to select your destination host.