VMware Cloud Community
baltman99
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Vmotion - VM from one host to another host

I have a lab setup as I am new to VMware and trying to move a powered on VM from one host to another host and it errors. I have attached an image of the error. (vmotionError2.png)

They way I am running this is as follows:

System built machine Running ESXi 4.1.0 260247

Host 1

On it I have two ESXi 4.1.0 260247 VM's running and Vcenter Server and three other VM's

Host 2 (Different Phyisical Hardware)

On this I have ESXi 4.1.0 260247

Host 3

This is the first Virtual ESXi 4.1 on Host one called ESXi41-1 which has a powered on VM of Windows XP Pro.

Host 4

This is the second Virtual ESXi4.1 on Host one called ESXi41-2 which is where I am trying to vmotion the Windows XP Pro VM to.

The nics are on full 1000 duplex.

Any suggestions or help would be great. This is what I am working with and trying to get good at to take my VCP exam.

Thanks Again

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

All the best, with that you could play with DRS, HA, FT and more 😃

iDLE-jAM | VCP 2, VCP 3 & VCP 4

If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

for VMotion to work you will need:

VM to be in shared storage that is accessible between the source and destination ESX/ESXi Host. The error message is telling you that the destination host could not access the storage. It's a local storage, and you will need to relocate to a shared storage in your environment.

If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,