VMware Cloud Community
iNik26
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

How to calculate/predict VM costs

Hello,

i'm new to VSPP and i'm trying to understand how to calculate the costs of a VM (for us and for billing to customers).

I'm evaluate to subscribe to "VMware vCloud Service Provider Bundle – Premier-X Edition" and in product usage guide i find:

"..10 points per 1 GB Reserved RAM (based on average monthly usage) (GB = 1024 MB)

Total points capped at 24 GB of Reserved RAM per virtual machine (see Reporting and Operational Details) "

What does it mean "based on average monthly usage" ? If i have a VM that run continuously and i reserve to it 1 GB but it has for example 4 GB assigned, what will be the cost at the end of the month ? 10 Points ?

Does exist a method that permit to exactly calculate the cost of a VM with specified resources (pre-assigned and not pay-per-use) ?

Thanks, kind regards,

Nicola

5 Replies
Matt23220111014
Contributor
Contributor

This is an older Product guide but you can find newer ones in Partner Central (they just aren't easy to link to);

http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/partners/vspp/VSPP-Product-Usage-Guide.pdf

take a look at page 11 and 12

Again this is an older Program Guide but the Rental Reporting (and most of the document) is worth a read but perhaps get the current version from Partner Central first.

http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/partners/vspp/VSPP-Program-Guide.pdf

I'd recommend finding those same references in the latest equivalent VCAN guides in Partner Central

VMware Partner Programs: Requirements and Benefits | VMware Australia

When you are in partner central checkout the Partner University and check out the subscription licensing courses in there as well.

Matt23220111014
Contributor
Contributor

What does it mean "based on average monthly usage" ? If i have a VM that run continuously and i reserve to it 1 GB but it has for example 4 GB assigned, what will be the cost at the end of the month ? 10 Points ?