VMware Cloud Community
dlchapman
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

vCenter/vSphere Setup Questions

I apologize if this is the wrong community to post these questions in. I thought the vSphere community to be most appropriate however there is no generic vSphere category. The vCenter Server general category was the next appropriate.

Our company is in the process of purchasing hardware for the vSphere 4. We've budgeted the cost to purchase the vSphere 4 Essentials Plus bundle ($5000) however I'm quite sure that I can convince our Exec Team to approve the purchase of the vSphere 4 Advanced Acceleration Kit ($17000) once I've shown them vMotion Live Migration and Fault Tolerance. With that being said, I am still new to vmWare products and need a little advice. Here are some questions I have.

1) My plan is to have all three physical hosts boot their ESX/ESXi installation off our iSCSI SAN to avoid having to have local storage on each server. It this an acceptable practice or is this not preferred? Is there any performance penalty once the servers are up and running? Your guidance here would be greatly appreciated.

2) I understand I can choose between ESX and ESXi during my installation. I was under the assumption that ESXi was more of a lower-end product (hence the free version) however I've read on vmware.com that ESXi is the preferred product for new installations and that ESX is only available for legacy add-on products. Is this correct? Should I go with ESXi for all three servers?

3) Where does vCenter Server get installed? Is it run off of one of my three physical servers or does it need an additional server. I have zero experience with vCenter Server so I have no idea on this one.

4) Would it be advisable to install local disks on each server for the paging/swap file?

5) I will be purchasing Veeam Backup & Replication for backup. Does it make a difference on wether I choose ESX or ESXi?

Thanks in advance for all of your advice.

0 Kudos
1 Solution