VMware Cloud Community
ggrube2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vCenter and SQL 2005 Express on same physical machine

I am new to the VMware environment and am a little concerned about my VMware infrastructure and design. I have 3 physical boxes hosting 15 virtual servers. I have a 4th server that hosts vCenter and the SQL database. I am wondering what my risks are by having both vCenter and SQL 2005 express installed on the same box? What does VMware suggest as the best practice concerning this setup? If this setup is ok ,what are my options to protect myself in the event the box with vCenter and the SQL database dies? Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

VMware sets a restriction to 5 hosts and 50 guests wen you use SQL Express. I have it running with 6 hosts and 48 guests (incl. templates) on the same machine as the vcenter server. That is not what I want to keep and we'll change it to a SQL 2005 Standard on a separate SQL server (as we had it with SQL 2000 and VI3 before).

But I didn't have a single problem with this configuration, yet.

Having both on the same server can lead to a conflict: SQL 2005 requires IIS but vCenter uses the ports. So I have it installed but disabled.

I also believe that separating both runs faster than having it all on the same box.

AWo

VCP / vEXPERT 2009

vExpert 2009/10/11 [:o]===[o:] [: ]o=o[ :] = Save forests! rent firewood! =

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

VMware sets a restriction to 5 hosts and 50 guests wen you use SQL Express. I have it running with 6 hosts and 48 guests (incl. templates) on the same machine as the vcenter server. That is not what I want to keep and we'll change it to a SQL 2005 Standard on a separate SQL server (as we had it with SQL 2000 and VI3 before).

But I didn't have a single problem with this configuration, yet.