VMware Cloud Community
Synced
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

problem upgrading vCenter 4.0 to 4.1 on WK2008R2

Hi all,

i'm a beginner in VMware vCenter technologies and i have a big problem.

I've installed a vCenter 4.0 on a Windows Server 2008R2 SP1 (64 bits), and 3 ESX 4.0 servers on 3 physical machines. The upgrade for the ESX 4.0 to 4.1 was ok.

But, after downloading vCenter 4.1 and lauching the install on my WK2008 server, i've got this message:

"The program or feature "\??\E:\vpx\VMware-vcserver.exe" cannot start start or run due to incompatibility with 64-bit version of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available".

I went on google, VMware website... etc, to find out if my hardware (or OS) was not compatible, but i didn't find anything.

Does someone have an idea about troubleshooting this?

There's no ignorance, there just only a lack of experience
0 Kudos
8 Replies
dtracey
Expert
Expert

Hi there,

Is the machine that you are attempting to install 4.1 on, a Domain Controller? Or does it hold any other roles within AD?

What version of vCenter 4.0 were you running before (32/64bit)?

Did you perform an md5sum on the 4.1 ISO after you downloaded it?

Are you running the install with sufficient admin rights?

Dan

0 Kudos
Synced
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

The machine which is running my vCenter 4.0 is a VM, and is neither a Domain Controller or part of an AD.

Guess the version of vCenter 4.0 i'm actually running is a 64-bit version. (how can i check it?)

About the admin rights, no problem, i'm the local administrator.

About the md5sum, don't know what it is. I've just downloaded VMware vCenter Server 4.1 and modules iso (2.2GB) on the website with the Download Manager.

0 Kudos
Synced
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hum...

went on VMware download website, and download again vCenter Server 4.1 and modules, but this times, in zip format.