VMware Cloud Community
mdamda
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

port group

Hi everyone,

i am new to vmware ,I have a standard switch and ,

i need to add a vlan. I have  4 esxi hosts in a cluster.

I have logged in to vsphere client. on one of the host(say host1)  i clicked configuration - Networking - add networking - connection type virtual machine- vswitch1(which is my standard switch)-

Under port group properties, i have given VLANID-90.

Is it finished or do i need to make any more change.

But under host 2, 3 and 4 i dont see this vlan.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
linotelera
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hi

I'm trying to understand: You attempt to configure virtual machine portgroup from host1 and see new portgroup from host 2-3-4?

Adding a vlan in virtual switch means add a virtual machine portgroup, and these steps must be done to achieve it:

1. Add vlan in physical switch (and trunk ports which are connected to host)

2.1 If you have a Distributed vSwitch, simply add a Distributed portgroup with correct vlan id (the configuration is spanned to host which are connected to this virtual switch)

2.2 If you have a Standard switch you have to create a std port group in vSwitch for every host which should be connected (this is your case)

2.3 If you have a standard switch and you want to complete this in a single "action" you should use a powershell script

Hope this could be useful...

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
linotelera
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hi

I'm trying to understand: You attempt to configure virtual machine portgroup from host1 and see new portgroup from host 2-3-4?

Adding a vlan in virtual switch means add a virtual machine portgroup, and these steps must be done to achieve it:

1. Add vlan in physical switch (and trunk ports which are connected to host)