VMware Cloud Community
hattrick4467
Contributor
Contributor

moving vCenter Server to new host/datastore

I am new to vmware so I hope I have posted this to the correct forum. We recently upgraded our vmware environment from v4 to v5. We have two hosts and a single SAN. We have two datastores on the SAN. the vcenter server was created as a vm on host1 on datastore1. Datastore1 and Datastore2 were both upgraded to VMFS v5. It is recommended that you create a new native VMFS v5 datastore as when it is upgraded you do not get all of the improvements but rather a subset. I moved the vcenter server to host 2 and datastore2 but it you browse datastore1 or look at the virtual machines asigned to the datastore the file structure is still showing on datastore1(as well as datastore2.  Currently I have all of my other vm's moved to datastore2. My goal is to get entirely off of datastore1 and then recreate it as a fresh VMFS v5 store and then migrate everything to it. I have read the receommendations on how to move a vCenter server where you disconnect from vCenter, connect to the host that it resides on directly using vsphere client, remove it from inventory(but not from the disk) and then re-add it by attaching to the vm files. This does not seem like the scenario that I am in and want to make sure I do not break anything. Is it normal for the vcenter server and files to exist on both stores? Any help or advice appreciated.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

do you have any media mounted to the vCenter VM from DS1? Usually it's an ISO file that may be mounted

0 Kudos
hattrick4467
Contributor
Contributor

I might. Let me check.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal