VMware Cloud Community
zoomprofile
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VCSA 6.5 - Update Manager not work

Hi,

I have successfully migrated from VC 6.0 for Windows to VCSA 6.5 as I wanted to get freed Windows Server license. All is working correctly except Update Manager. I'm still getting error "VMware vSphere Update Manager had an unknown error. Check the events and log files for details." when I tried to scan for updates. I'm new to VCSA, so please which logs exactly I need to look in? on VCSA ? or ESXi itself?

Thanks

Tags (1)
16 Replies
sanjeebkumar
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Are you still using the windows VUM or where exactly you are seeing the error ?

What operation you performed that kead to the error? Can you send the snapshot of that error?

if possible can you upload the vcsupport bundle too ?

BTW VUM is too migrated  to the VCSA and the VUM on the windows machine will not be functional.

0 Kudos
zoomprofile
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

1. vCenter 6.0 (from windows) was migrated to VCSA 6.5 (appliance)

2. once migrated to version 6.5 it's no longer using windows WUM as in 6.5 it's already bundled in VCSA

3. snapshot below - it's happening when I click on "Scan for Updates" and then submit task, error is shown immediately.

4. due confidential information i'll keep support bundle for myself

WUM_VCSA.PNG

0 Kudos
PuliSukumar
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Thanks for answering. Few more questions.

1) Was it working before migration?

2) Which Depot you were using? vmware or customised depot.

3) As part of migration old ISOs uploaded to VUM are deleted. May be that's contributing to this error.

4) Can you upload 6.5 ISO and try to scan and see how it behaves.

Thanks,

Sukumar.

0 Kudos
timweaver23
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

0 Kudos
Nahida123
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

Whats is the current version of ESXI you are using?