VMware Cloud Community
pb3
Contributor
Contributor

VC error - unable to decrypt passwords stored in the customization specification

Hi Folks,

I'm a relative newbie to Vmware and this is my first post so please go easy on me Smiley Happy

I'm using VC 2.5 / ESX 3.5

Now I recently went through the steps in an article I found in this community to configure VC to use a certificate issued by a Microsoft CA. This makes sense in our case as we have an internal Microsoft CA which is automatically trusted by our clients. I understand however that use of a Microsoft CA is not officially supported by VMware?

The change of certificate appeared to work and the usual certificate warning is no longer displayed on connection to the VC.

However I've just noticed that we are no longer able to deploy VMs using customization specifications. The deployment fails with an error "The VirtualCenter server is unable to decrypt passwords stored in the customization specification". We've tried creating a new customization template but had exactly the same results.

I suspect the problem is related to our changing the default VC certificate. I remember as part of process of changing the certificate you need to re-encrypt the password used for the database connection. This is proably a similar sort of thing. I not sure whether the use of the of a Microsoft CA plays any part in this.

So.. Has anyone had similar problems after changing the default VC certificate?

I've done a search and a couple of previous posts suggests a workaround of exporting the customization file and editing it to remove the password encryption setting. I'm not really happy with this workaround as the customization file contains administrator credentials.

Any help/advice appreciated!

Peter

0 Kudos
5 Replies
fleeb
Contributor
Contributor