VMware Cloud Community
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Unable to enable convertor plugin with update 1

I have upgraded VC to update 1 but I am unable to see the convertor plugin, I have uninstalled/reinstalled it above 5 time to no avail, it shows as installed but the button does not appear in VC next to update manager, has anybody else had this problem - if so how did you cure it.

0 Kudos
30 Replies
CCI-VI
Contributor
Contributor

I'm a newbie and could be wrong but your's looks the same as mine. I don't believe you're supposed to see a "button" but you should be able to right click on your host and "import machine"

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

The new converter is a bit different to invoke. After it's been enabled, right-click on a host or a resource pool where you want to add a new vm, right-click, and select 'Import Machine'

The rest should look familiar.

-KjB

vExpert/VCP/VCAP vmwise.com / @vmwise -KjB
0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

There was an icon before I updated to update 1, is it gone now then! because I could run a CP exercise using that icon.

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

Wait, now I'm confused. Do you mean the consolidation icon? or converter? I'm running a 2.5 VC in my lab, and I don't see an icon for converter, but yes for Consolidation (Capacity Planner?)

-KjB

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Thats the one since it disappeared i cant remember what it was called, very odd one this as you can see from the screendump i did.

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

Look in control panel and see if 'Capacity Planner for Virtual Center' is still in add/remove programs. I wonder if this is yet another "feature" of Update 1. = )

-KjB

0 Kudos
CCI-VI
Contributor
Contributor

yes.. capacity planner is still there.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

All components are present in the control panel of installed programs.

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

Easiest thing would be to reinstall. It will be simpler than trying to figure out what happened.

-KjB