VMware Cloud Community
bshubinsky
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Removing and re-adding hosts in vCenter via FQDN

We recently experienced some issues with our vCenter and someone recommended removing the hosts from vCenter and re-adding them using their FQDN. Am I going to lose any settings in the process? Will I have to re-create anything? Is there any tips/tricks/caveats that I should know?

Reply
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

do you have any folder stuctures setup in your VM's and Templates View?  If so, when you disconnect and remove the hosts from vCenter, then add back, all the VM's go into the default "Discovered Virtual Machines" Folder.

The proper procedure would be to evacuate all your VM's, put the host in maintenace mode, then remove host.  Once the host has been removed, add host back using FQDN... rinse and repeat.

bshubinsky
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Would I need to recreate any of the network settings or are those saved on the host?

Reply
0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

no, all networking is created on the ESX(i) Host, so you won't have to do anything.

bshubinsky
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Everything worked out. Thank you!

Reply
0 Kudos