VMware Cloud Community
Thysdeb
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

PSC appliance needs to be restared daily

Hi all,

we are running VMWare 6. on vxrail  (Dell HCI), lately, we need to restart the psc appliance to allow us log in to vcentre (login to esxi standalone hosting the PSC to restart it), worse is that this has an impact on our backup software (Dell AVAMAR) which I presume can then also not login to do the backups.

I am absolutely green and have no idea what to look for on the psc appliance that may cause this .. this happened a few months ago but stopped all of a sudden  (only for a few days we needed to restart the psc) but the issue is now back and seems not going away this time.

Any idea what and how i can look for please .....again I am completely new to this world

Kind Regards

Thys

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
nachogonzalez
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Okay, let me help you find the issue?

- Does the PSC VM has snapshots?
- Does the PSC VM need consolidation?
- If you check for the tasks and events of the PSC VM on vCenter do you see something weird?
- Have you checked the PSC logs?   Check if you can find something fialing here https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/6.5/com.vmware.psc.doc/GUID-7D574459-A9DB-45EE-A5D9-47BDC0...
- Try migrating the PSC to a different host and check if the issue persists. 
- Have you checked the performance charts? check for CPU ready and Memory Balloning? 

Please check that and let me know if you need further assistance

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Assuming that you have active SnS, I'd recommend that you open a support case with either Dell, or VMware. They should be able to identify the issue, by reviewing the logs.

André

Moderator note: Discussion moved to vCenter™ Server Discussions

0 Kudos
Thysdeb
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi