VMware Cloud Community
MikeZirbes
Contributor
Contributor

Need help with database upgrade from 4.0 to 4.1 - SQL question

I am not an SQL expert so I need some basic help with the following pre upgrade procedures.

From KB1026688

1.Download the appropriate script for your environment. The scripts are attached to this article (located in the Attachments section at the bottom of this article).

2.Unzip the scripts.

3.Run the scripts on vCenter Server 4.0 database.

How do I actually run the script against my database and how am I notified of the results?

I believe this note applies to my environment but I do not know how to configure the script to run.

Note: The SQL query must be run with fully qualified database table names. If you have multiple database instances, there may be a need to qualify the tables with the db-instance name and the db-owner name.

4.If no results are returned, you can continue with the upgrade

Thanks for your help

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

Moved to the vCenter Server forum.

Dave

VMware Communities User Moderator

Now available - vSphere Quick Start Guide

Do you have a system or PCI card working with VMDirectPath? Submit your specs to the Unofficial VMDirectPath HCL.

0 Kudos
pcerda
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

You have to use the Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio in order to run a SQL Query. You have to create a new SQL query and paste the script that you have downloaded.

You have to run this query pointing to the vCenter Database

Regards / Saludos

-

Patricio Cerda !http://www.images.wisestamp.com/linkedin.png!

VMware VCP-410

Join to Virtualizacion en Español group in Likedin

See My Blog

See My Linkedin Profile

-

Si encuentras que esta o cualquier otra respuesta ha sido de utilidad, vótalas. Gracias.

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer helpful or correct. Thank you.