VMware Cloud Community
pricemc1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Need help troubleshooting LDAPS configuration on vCenter 8

I am trying to configure an identity source in vCenter 8 using LDAPS with Active Directory on a new vCenter 8 implementation. I have been able to do this successfully many times in the past on vCenter 7 instances so I'm familiar with the procedure and requirements. This is my first time doing it though on a vCenter 8 VCSA, but nothing really looks different than how it was done in earlier versions.  Unfortunately, I seem to be running into some issues when I try to add the identity source using LDAPS. Adding it using standard LDAP works fine though.  I am receiving the following error when trying to configure the identity source for LDAPs though:

"Cannot configure identity source due to Failed to probe provider connectivity [URI: ldaps://domainl ]; tenantName [vsphere.local], userName [User] Caused by: Can’t contact LDAP server."

For troubleshooting I have done the following:

• I was able to contact and query the LDAP servers (Windows Server 2022 DCs) using 'ldp.exe' to test LDAPS from Windows clients that I tested from.  I was able to bind and authenticate using the domain account credentials I specified in the identity source configuration.
  • I was able to confirm that the LDAPS servers are presenting the correct certificate by using Openssl to display the certificates being presented on port 636/3269.
  • I was also able to verify network connectivity and proper name resolution from the VCSA to the LDAPs servers from the VCSA CLI using 'ping', 'dig', and 'nslookup'. Both forward and reverse lookups seem to be fine from the VCSA and Windows servers. All of these systems are on the same network. There is no router or firewall between any of them (other than OS level firewalls built into Windows and VCSA).