VMware Cloud Community
bcattz
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Lingering vmsn files

I am new to VM and the community, so I apologize if I am posting in the wrong area.  We have a Virtual Machine that has 4 vmsn files in the datastore.  It is my understanding that these files are supposed to delete when a snapshot is deleted, but they did not.  Can I just delete these from the datastore manually?

Also, we attempted to take another snapshot to see if we could delete it and clear up the files, but we received the following message.

Create virtual machine snapshot
File <unspecified
filename> is larger
than the maximum
size supported by
datastore
'<unspecified
datastore>

From Vsphere's perspective, the VM is running low on space, but the OS level shows plenty.  What is the best way to reclaim this space in VSphere?  We are running 4.0.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Hoschi201110141
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I sugest not to delete these Files manualy..

If your Datastore is nearly full it can happen that it is not possible to delete or apply snapshots to a VMguest.

You have different methods to drive around..

- Free some space ... maybe move other VMguest away from this LUN

- Extend the Datastore

- Backup - Delete - Restore the VMguest

Then try to delete or apply the Snapshots as necesary.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Hoschi201110141
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I sugest not to delete these Files manualy..

If your Datastore is nearly full it can happen that it is not possible to delete or apply snapshots to a VMguest.

You have different methods to drive around..

- Free some space ... maybe move other VMguest away from this LUN

- Extend the Datastore

- Backup - Delete - Restore the VMguest

Then try to delete or apply the Snapshots as necesary.

0 Kudos
smithandwesson
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution