VMware Cloud Community
itsexe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Installation of SQL Server for Virtual Center Server

Hi All,

We have purchased 16x2 processor licenses for ESX server. So i am going to prepare a Virutal Center Server database for managing 16 hosts. As SQL Server 2005 Express is installed during the installation of Virtual Center Server but VMware recommends to use this only for 5 hosts.

So I would like to prepare a SQL server database for VC, please help me how can I make the database for Virtual center server. Are there are special tables, configuration, permissions required. i have no experience with databases so how should I go with it. Is there any guide for it. The installation guide of ESX server only explains creating the ODBC connections.

Please help me in this regard i would be highly obliged.

Regards, Khurram Shahzad
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
M__Y_
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I know that the procedure is restrited to 2 steps (1 and 2) in page 68 but you must install and configure SQL Server at your enterprise standard (I suppose application on C: or 😧 and data/log on E:). I will not explain you better how to install SQL Server on a server. For the SQL Server database:

• Step 1: you create a database storing the files on the appropriated disk (with at least 30 GB) with a default database size at the size defined by the "calculator" (value + 15% on the line of your statistic level choice).

• Step 2: On your Microsoft SQL Server, create a SQL Server database user with database operator (DBO) rights.The default database for the DBO user is what you defined in Step 1.Make sure the database user has either a sysadmin server role or the db_ownerfixed database role on the VirtualCenter database and the MSDB database.The db_owner role on the MSDB database is required for installation and upgradeonly. This role can be revoked after the installation or upgrade process iscompleted.