VMware Cloud Community
LE2Strat
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Incompatiable HA Networks since upgrading to VC 2.5 Update 2

I am a new ESX/Virtual Center admin, and came accros this error after upgrading Virtual Center to 2.5 update 2 one only one of our ESX Hosts (3.0.2, we are getting ready to upgrade them but we want to get the HA problem fixed first)

I saw this KB article: But I dont' know where you go for these advanced settings after you turn HA off on the cluster. Strange thing it is only happening on one of our hosts, and I have double checked, the service console on this host and all others are on the same subnet using sequential IP addresses.

Is there anything else I should be checking for looking for? I am pretty new this , so any help would be great.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

VSWIF signifies a service console so you do have three service consoles on the this host. If you are sure that the 172 and 173 consoles are not in use we can disable and then delete them if you like. You can use the esxcfg-vswif to manage service console's from the command line.

If you found this or any other post helpful please consider the use of the Helpful/Correct buttons to award points

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If you edit the properties of the Cluster and go to the HA tab there should be an Advanced Options button at the bottom right of the screen. This is where you would apply the resolution listed in the KB article. You might want to check out this article as well,

If you found this or any other post helpful please consider the use of the Helpful/Correct buttons to award points

LE2Strat
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

You mean right click on the cluster inside of VC and go to Edit Settings? I see there is where you turn HA off on the Cluster. Where do I go to do this at step by step if you don't mind.