VMware Cloud Community
wildcattdw
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Finding snapshots

Good day all!

I would like to know if there is any easy way to find snapshots on guests.

I have found the odd occurance of ESXRanger either failing during back up, therefore not removing the snapshot, or not successfully removing the snapshop (for whatever reason.) Also, I'll be requested to take a snapshot prior to a patch to a guest OS, or software upgrade, and after several days, I tend to forget all about it.

SO, back to the question, how do I best find these snapshots, short of going guest by guest? Any help is appreciated!!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kix1979
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

At a minimum I just do a find on *delta.vmdk. From that I can manually look, I don't have a pretty script yet, I'm still learning lots of shell scripts.

Thomas H. Bryant III

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
22 Replies
kix1979
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Actually, our next release should resolve most of these issues, but in the mean time you can either look on the host/VC for the snapshots, but sometimes esxRanger or not, they will not commit and return a false positive to the client. At that point you have to look on the console for the \*delta* files.

Thomas H. Bryant III
hicksj
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

I have a perl script that I use that lists out all the vmdk files, and highlights any that are snapshots. Being that all my hosts can see all LUNs, it need only be run in one location.

Relevant chunks of code:

#get a list of all volumes on the host

@vmfs_list = `vdf -Ph`;

foreach $line (@vmfs_list) {

chomp ($line);

if ($line =~ /^(\/vmfs\/volumes.*)/) {

@details = split(/\s+/, $line);

$details[5] =~ /\/(.)\/(.)\/(.*)/;

$volume = $3;

...do something to print out volume info if you wish...

#list all the files in each directory

@file_list = `ls -Rsh1 $details[5]/`;

foreach $entry (@file_list) {

chomp ($entry);