VMware Cloud Community
mgaston
Contributor
Contributor

Error 1920 installing VMware Licensing Server on Windows 2008 x64

I recently (yesterday) upgraded Virtual Center 2.5 to vCenter 4.0. Since I still have ESX 3.5 U4 hosts in my DRS cluster I still need the licensing service.

When I try to install the licensing server on the new vCenter 4.0 server I get an error during setup.

The error is: Error 1920.Service VMware License Server (VMware License Server) failed to start. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to start system services.

I am a local administrator on the server and ran the setup using the "Run as Administrator" option.

My server is Window 2008 Enterprise Edition x64 with SP2.

License Server Build is 2.5.0.64192.

Has anyone else experienced this? Any resolution?

0 Kudos
22 Replies
mgaston
Contributor
Contributor

Okay, nevermind. After searching for several hours I finally decided to post a question and wouldn't you know it after I post the question I find the answer in another post.

Need to download latest VC2.5 iso or zip file and run the vmware-licenseserver.exe from there. It's a different version that the one that you download separately.

This version worked for me: 2.5.0.6427

0 Kudos
R_P1
Contributor
Contributor

Even i had the same problem , after reading this article i was able solve the problem !

It works

0 Kudos
rocker77
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Can I use VMware Licence server on x64 OS without worries?! I am planning clean installation VSphere vCenter server and I have several ESX 3.5 hosts too. First possibility is left licence server running on old VC server or the second is install only licence server on new x64 VSphere vCenter server.

Thanks for your experiences!!

0 Kudos
mgaston
Contributor
Contributor

I have had my License Server up and running on a 64-bit OS for several weeks now with no issues. It's running on the same server as vSphere vCenter server.

0 Kudos
bnk
Contributor
Contributor