VMware Cloud Community
dwcrist
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESX 3.5 Host won't go into maintenance mode

This is my first attempt at a VI3 cluster, so my apologies in advance if this is a very elementary question.

I created a new cluster and put two new ESX 3.5 hosts into it. I checked both HA and DRS (fully automatic), and we have the licenses for it. I brought up a test VM and was able to Vmotion it from one host to another manually. I assumed (apparently naively) that I could just right-click the host, select 'Enter maintenance mode', and DRS would move the VM to the other host. All it did was stay at 2% for about 30 minutes, after which time I canceled the request. After I shut down and powered off the VM, it entered m/m just fine. I checked and there were no DRS recommendations.

I'm hoping I just failed to configure the cluster properly, because at this point I'm no better off than I am in ESX 2.5, having to manually clear off a host before doing maintenance.

Thanks for any help,

Doug

0 Kudos
7 Replies
dpomeroy
Champion
Champion

When I have seen this it was because DRS was not set to Fully Auto, or a VM could not be moved because it had a CD-ROM drive connected.

Have you tried it with just DRS configured and not HA? Also, do you have any HA errors on the cluster?

Don Pomeroy

VMware Communities User Moderator

0 Kudos
dwcrist
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Don,

I can Vmotion the VM manually with no warnings, so I think we're OK there.

I turned off HA and verified that DRS is fully automated, no rules, VMs default to cluster (fully automated)

I noticed that when I tried to enter maintenance mode, I get the nasty message below. This seems to say that I have to move or shut down everything before the action will succeed. Or am I reading it incorrectly? Here's the message: