wd300
Contributor
Contributor

Committing to Snapshots

Jump to solution

The more I read about snapshots the more confused I get. If you have a number of snapshots on a virtual machine and you are satisfied nothing went wrong and you want to commit the snapshots so they are gone do you use "revert" or do you "delete" them or what?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

you would use "delete all".  Which will consolidate all the snapshots. Revert, means going back to a point in time.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

you would use "delete all".  Which will consolidate all the snapshots. Revert, means going back to a point in time.

0 Kudos
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal

"delete" would be the right option to commit the snapshot. revert will you bring you back to the initial point before the snapshot is being created.

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

IMO instead of "Delete" and "Delete All" the buttons should be named "Commit" and "Commit All". This would make things clearer.

André

EDIT: Be careful with "Delete All" if you are running ESX(i) 4 prior to Update 2. With multiple snapshots, you may need a lot of free disk space for this.