VMware Cloud Community
zhangfred_vm
Contributor
Contributor

Can we use the snapmirror in netapp storage to backup vms?

Hi experts,

Can we use the snapmirror in netapp storage to backup vms?

Is there a best practice?

thanks

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Rodos
Expert
Expert

I am not a Netapp expert.

Do you really mean snapmirror? Snapmirror more for replicating to another box/location than for backup? For local backup you would be using snapshot.

For an overview check out . It summaries different techniques and has some links to best practices.

Maybe explain what you are trying to do a little more.

Considering awarding points if this is of use

Rodos {size:10px}{color:gray}Consider the use of the helpful or correct buttons to award points. Blog: http://rodos.haywood.org/{color}{size}
zhangfred_vm
Contributor
Contributor

thanks!

we want to back all the virtual machines to the tape.

It's about 300 Virtual machines and 12T data.

0 Kudos
mike_laspina
Champion
Champion

Hello,

I did some fairly intense research on netapp filers. The one thing that worried me was that issue of over subscription and WAFL. Here is what I found. When you use WAFL with snapshots and VMFS your active disk data blocks begin to frag across the array(s) and once the system snapshot volume saturates the array performance begins to degrade. This can be countered by running a defrag process but that interferes with the backup window (Or just add disk till the power outlet is cooked). If the array is oversubscribed it will need to flush the oldest snapshot pointers to free up raw blocks but again these are fragged and will not perform as well. One method of avoiding some of these issues is to use RDM and let snapdrive deal with snapshots.

Here is a netapp best practice guide you may find very usefull.

http://www.netapp.com/library/tr/3562.pdf

FYI

I'm still not sold on Netapp.

Seems to be priced much higher than many other solutions.

http://blog.laspina.ca/ vExpert 2009
0 Kudos
Rodos
Expert