VMware Cloud Community
MOBDBD
Contributor
Contributor

Can't connect ESX Host to VirtualCenter Server

Hello,

first of all, i am new at working with VMWare ESX Server and all the Stuff belonging to this. So sorry for stupid questions and my bad English.

We have an ESX 3 Enterprise Server and now we bought a second ESX and a VirtualCenter Management Server.

The second ESX is not running at the moment but the first and the VirtualCenter. My problem is to connect the VirtualCenter to the ESX Server Host. I always get the message: "A required license VirtualCenter Agent for ESX Server is not reserved." The second message is "Not enough CPU licenses."

Where do I have to add the licenses to get that problem fixed? What is an VirtualCenter Agent license? The ESX is licensed by an Single Host license File, is that the Problem?

Thanks in Advance and Greetings from Berlin.

MOB

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Erik_Zandboer
Expert
Expert

Hi,

Because you previously had a single ESX server without Virtualcenter, I assume you have been using a local license file on the ESX host. Now tht you are switching to VC, you will need a served license file. You an obtain the license file by logging into the license manager:

http://www.vmware.com/download/licensing.html

Obtain your license as a "served" license, and insert the *.lic file into the virtualcenter installer (when the installer asks about a licensing server choose to install it locally and feed it the *.lic file).

greetz from the Netherlands Smiley Happy

Visit my blog at http://www.vmdamentals.com
0 Kudos
MOBDBD
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

thanks for your help, but this is not my problem i think. I've add the Server based license File but the error message still appears when I try to connect.

Should I try to change the license File on the ESX Server? Because there is still the Single Host File installed.

Bye,

MOB

0 Kudos
Erik_Zandboer
Expert
Expert