VMware Cloud Community
DFN
Contributor
Contributor

CPU Shares

I have 4 IIS and 3 SQL machines in my cluster. I have the IIS on one blade, the SQL on a second blade, and a third blade in case one failes.

Two questions:

1. How do I configure CPU shares if I want the IIS to always have maximum CPU that they will ever need.

2. How do I prevent, during failover that all the IIS move to the s tandby blade and not the SQL blade. Reason for this is that each IIS requires full 2 pCPU to run or else the applications fail. So if the blade has 8 procs, then 4 IIS need all 8 so the IIS machines can never share space with the SQL servers.

Thanks,

Dave

0 Kudos
8 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

1) You wouldn't do it with a share, you would do it with a reservation of X MHz.

2) Set an anti-affinity rule in the DRS cluster settings.

--Matt

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
DFN
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Matt,

I'm new to this and just curious as for part 2. All I see for rules is "keep them seperate" or "keep them together". Am I missing something?

0 Kudos
RParker
Immortal
Immortal

That's what he meant "keep them separate".

patrickds
Expert
Expert

2. How do I prevent, during failover that all the IIS move to the s tandby blade and not the SQL blade. Reason for this is that each IIS requires full 2 pCPU to run or else the applications fail. So if the blade has 8 procs, then 4 IIS need all 8 so the IIS machines can never share space with the SQL servers.

If you set reservations in the resource pool for the IIS machines, DRS will take care of the placement of VMs in case of a host failing.

With 3 hosts, 8 cores each, you have a total of 24 cores.

Set a CPU reservation for the IIS servers to equal 2 cores, so 8 cores total.

Let's say SQL can manage with 1 CPU's worth: 3 cores.

This gives you a total of 11 cores worth used out of 24 available.(or 16 active, 8 standby)

In case 1 host fails, you will still have 16 cores, more than enough.