VMware Cloud Community
sabry
Contributor
Contributor

Backup VM with existing snapshot .How to ?

Hi.

I'm a newbie and I 'm trying to implement backup.

But I have a BIG problem (maybe because I don't understand the vmware backup' philosophy )

We use ESX as test/development environment so we have ALL vm with snapshot (because snapshots are "a must" in development environment)

we chose ESX infrastructure against ESX server mainly for this feature.

But now if I understand well before make a backup I must "delete" snapshot on VM .

Please could you tell me if it is so ?

And if I understand well ,how did you solve this problem ?

Thanks

Sabry

0 Kudos
15 Replies
VirtualNoitall
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hello,

How are you backing up your virtual machines? backup client inside vms? VCB? agent on the ESX host?

You shouldn't have to delete your snapshot.

sabry
Contributor
Contributor

In These Last Few Days I'm trying ESXRANGER with VCB module .

For example ..I tried to backup 1 VM without snapshot with success ,after the backup ... I made a snapshot on the same VM ,with the same backup "steps" but the backup was failed ...

I tried with other VM ..with the same results ..

0 Kudos
sabry
Contributor
Contributor

Sorry ...

0 Kudos
VirtualNoitall
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

OK, I haven't used that product myself. Sit tight, I am sure someone has and can answer this.

0 Kudos
sabry
Contributor
Contributor

Please any suggestions ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
virtech
Expert
Expert

You can't backup up a VM with esxRanger if an existing snapshot exists for that VM. You must delete the snapshot first then use esxranger to backup the VM

0 Kudos
taylorb
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

You should be able to do a file level backup of the snapshot files from the ESX console.

0 Kudos
jmattox
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

If the VM has an open Snap shot you can backup over the LAN with esxRanger.

If the VM has an open snap shot you cannot use VCB and esxRanger together to backup that VM.

Jeff1981
Enthusiast
Enthusiast