saurabh_agr001
Contributor
Contributor

process for Sealing of workflow in the VCO environment

Hi All,

I have created the custom workflow in VCO under the my plug-in. There is one requirement to seal the workflow.

In the community forum, I have checked some details are as below ---

"

Sealing a workflow for a plug-in is not different from sealing an arbitrary workflow developed with vCO, and it's done at package level. To do it from the vCO Client you can follow the official documentation http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/topic/com.vmware.vsphere.vco_dev.doc_42/GUID444209F2-4EAA-42AE-AFF...

"

But by using above document link suggested for the package (Group of Workflow) but does not indented to the workflow permission.

Other user can edit or Execute the workflow.

Kindly assist.

Regards,

Saurabh Agarwal

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Burke-
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Greetings - kind of right idea, wrong section of documentation... don't do anything ON the package, adjust checkboxes when EXPORTING package. See here: Export a Package

If my answer resolved or helped you, please mark it as Correct or Helpful to award points. Thank you! Visit http://www.vcoteam.info & http://blogs.vmware.com/orchestrator for vRealize Orchestrator tips and tutorials - @TechnicalValues on Twitter
0 Kudos
saurabh_agr001
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Burke,

Thanks for the reply.

as per the provided link, it explain "impose restrictions on the exported package", but I have requirement to seal the workflow so that other user can not modify or delete the workflow.

Regards,

Saurabh Agarwal

0 Kudos
Burke-
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You mean on the same vCO server as where you created the workflow? If other users are in the group specified as vCO Admins, then they can modify/delete as desired. The exporting of a package with those restrictions prevents users who IMPORT your package from being able to Modify/Delete/View/.... etc... the workflows contained within your package.

If you wish to impose this restriction on your own server where this workflow is created then:

1) export a package with full rights -- leave all checkboxes checked

2) Export a restricted package -- uncheck the desired boxes

3) DELETE your workflow

4) Import your restricted package -- now, regardless of group membership, users are restricted on the workflow(s) that were imported via that restricted package.

If my answer resolved or helped you, please mark it as Correct or Helpful to award points. Thank you! Visit http://www.vcoteam.info & http://blogs.vmware.com/orchestrator for vRealize Orchestrator tips and tutorials - @TechnicalValues on Twitter
0 Kudos
saurabh_agr001
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Burke,

My Purpose is put the restriction on the workflow rather than on Package. As I have seen some option as 'LOCK' when I right clicked over the workflow.

pastedImage_0.png

I need such kind of functionality but not exact as 'LOCK'. If I have imposed the lock over the workflow, so other user able to change the state and not able to modify or delete.

Regards,

Saurabh Agarwal

0 Kudos