VMware {code} Community
mateenhussain
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Can I drive UI automation thru Orchestrator

Hi

I'm a total newbie to this concept of VMware and I have been assigned the task of automating my company's installer on VM Servers. So I was wondering if Orchestrator is the right technology for automating UI actions like button click etc. Also can I automate Pre-boot input thru keyboard visa Orchestrator. If not can somebody please point to the right way of doing it.

Thanks,

Mateen

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

I agree with Sia that you should go for silent installs but I understand that this not always possible.

A valid alternative is to use WASP from within PowerShell (with PowerCLI toolkit).

Have a look at the demo that was done during VMworld Europe 2009: VI Toolkit Demos at VMworld Europe 2009 (Part 2 of 2: UI Automation)

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Orchestrator is probably not a good way to emulate button clicks. However, most installers do have a silent install option and if you could launch it with in silent install mode and provide all the answers the installer needs, you are very likely able to do this in vCO.

Sia

0 Kudos
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

I agree with Sia that you should go for silent installs but I understand that this not always possible.

A valid alternative is to use WASP from within PowerShell (with PowerCLI toolkit).

Have a look at the demo that was done during VMworld Europe 2009: VI Toolkit Demos at VMworld Europe 2009 (Part 2 of 2: UI Automation)

0 Kudos
mateenhussain
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi Guys