VMware Cloud Community
rgcda
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

frustrating experience with Hyperic and vCops integration

I'm new to Hyperic and vCops.  We have a mostly virtualized environment but I've been installing Hyperic on virtual machine and physical machines in our environment.  For virtual machines I want to monitor specific windows services and processes that aren't captured with vCops alone.  So I install the Hyperic agent on some machines and setup monitoring of specific windows services.  Then I setup the HypericApiAdapter Win32 attribute package to generate a critical alarm when services are not available.  I assign this attribute package to all Win32 resource kinds.  After that I configured the emailFitler.xml filter to send an email when the Win32 resource kind has a critical alarm.  Everything worked appropriately until a network connection to a site dropped.  What happens is that I get an alarm that the machine is down, then I get an alarm for the services that I configured for monitoring are down, and then I get additional alarms for every processor, disk drive, and network adapter in the machine being down.  Hyperic considers a CPU, network adapter, disk drive, etc as a service in addition to a monitor for a specific windows service.  To me that is excessive.  If the machine is down why does there need to be notifications for every single service.  It almost makes it impossible to use the email functionality from vCops when you are integrating with Hyperic.  Has anybody experienced this and how are you working around it?  Do you just use the email functionality from Hyperic for Hyperic resources?  I wanted to manage everything from vCops but I'm beginning to think this may not be possible?

Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
abhilashhb
VMware Employee
VMware Employee