VMware Cloud Community
bwallis21
Contributor
Contributor

Monitoring via email?

I'm a newbie (first post) and am looking at how I could use Hyperic HQ to monitor a bunch of remote servers from which I currently get a collection of emails that report the current status of the server and its applications.

I don't have direct access to these servers, they are behind firewalls in hospital networks. We have some limited manual VPN access to them but each is a different VPN type and some have manual security dongles that you have to get a number from to be able to login to. Difficult to setup a VPN tunnel, not possible in the short term.

So, for the moment, my only option is to collect stats and status via scripts on the servers and forward these on via email.

I was wondering if there are any plugins that might support this sort of monitoring?

From what I have read in the forums, I could write a script that receives the emails and parses them and outputs the required information to stdout and then write an Hyperic HQ plugin that read this to load it into Hyperic.

Is this the best approach?

thanks,
brian wallis...
0 Kudos
5 Replies
staceyeschneide
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi Brian,

Welcome to the Hyperic Community!

Your situation sounds complicated. Right now your idea sounds like its the only approach.

However, in 4.0 which is out in a few weeks - this *may* get easier for you as we're building in a single directional agent protocol. Meaning, the agent can talk out to the server only (assume that this is possible since you can send email and its the getting in that is the problem).

However, this will be an HQ Enterprise only feature since Security is one of the axis points for us for Enterprise users. Are you by chance considering Enterprise?

For more info on the plugins - check out the Plugin Development Center: http://support.hyperic.com/display/DOC/Plugin+Development+Center

Cheers,
-Stacey
bwallis21
Contributor
Contributor