VMware Cloud Community
janylj
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Java Server missing metrics and GC service not available

Hello,

I am new to custom plugin. So I am following JMX Plugin Tutorial (http://support.hyperic.com/display/DOC/JMX+Plugin+Tutorial) to create a custom plugin for a simple Java process. I am using the plugin XML posted in the tutorial link.

The problem is that I could use command line (java -jar <Agent Directory>/pdk/lib/hq-product.jar -Dplugins.include=yourPluginName -m discover -a metric) to get all the metrics. I am attached the results from command line.

However, from HQ server (localhost:7080), only Availability, Process Cpu Usage, Process Resident Memory Size are collected. And the GC services are auto-discovered, but they are shown as unavailable. I am attaching two screen shots from HQ server.

Please help what I missed. It's very important for us to evaluate Hyperic product. Thank you very much.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jvalkeal_hyperi
Jump to solution

It seems that metric collecting is not enable for rest of the metrics.

Check monitoring defaults under administration tab. And there every resource collecting setting can be defined by editing metric templates. I hope it was simple as this...

Naturally all metrics are not enabled by default.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jvalkeal_hyperi
Jump to solution

It seems that metric collecting is not enable for rest of the metrics.

Check monitoring defaults under administration tab. And there every resource collecting setting can be defined by editing metric templates. I hope it was simple as this...

Naturally all metrics are not enabled by default.
0 Kudos
janylj
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Yes, this is exactly the problem for Java Server missed some metrics. I modified the collection interval for the rest of metrics. Now all of them start collecting. Please see the attached screen shot. Thank you very much.