VMware Cloud Community
newatcisco
Contributor
Contributor

Hyperic version 4.0.2 and Redhat Linux ES3

I am new to Hyperic. I downloaded the RPM package hyperic-hq-installer-4.0.2-1.i386.rpm and installed it on my Redhat Linux ES-3. I have everything installed
on this box including postgressql. Here is the info. on my Redhat Linux ES-3:

Linux Linux-lab 2.4.21-4.EL #1 Fri Oct 3 18:13:58 EDT 2003 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
[root@Linux-lab /tmp]# more /proc/version
Linux version 2.4.21-4.EL (bhcompile@daffy.perf.redhat.com) (gcc version 3.2.3 20030502 (Red Hat Linux 3.2.3
-20)) #1 Fri Oct 3 18:13:58 EDT 2003
[root@Linux-lab /tmp]#

When I tried to install hyperic, I got this error:

[root@Linux-lab /tmp]# rpm -Uvh hyperic-hq-installer-4.0.2-1.i386.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
1:hyperic-hq-installer ########################################### [100%]
bash: /root/.bashrc: Permission denied
spawn ./setup.sh
Unpacking JRE to temporary directory /tmp/jre
Initializing Hyperic HQ 4.0.2 Installation...
Loading taskdefs...
Taskdefs loaded
Choose which software to install:
1: Hyperic HQ Server
2: Hyperic HQ Agent
You may enter multiple choices, separated by commas.1

HQ server installation path [default '/home/hyperic']:/opt/hyperic

/opt/hyperic
Enter the fully qualified domain name of the SMTP server that HQ will use to send email messages [default '10.109.114.20']:bash: /root/.bashrc: Permission denied
[root@Linux-lab /tmp]#

Can anyone tell me why it behaves this way? I thought this should be very
easy and straight forward but I guess not. Please help !!!!!

Many thanks.

Dave
0 Kudos
4 Replies
ldomingues
Contributor
Contributor

I have the same problem.

I've installed it using the RPM version, using --nodeps.

Then I set the java path manually
export JAVA_HOME={path to java}

started the agent and also add the JAVA_HOME to the init.d script

I works and connects to the server, but no data is available on the server...
0 Kudos
excowboy