VMware Cloud Community
roger_symonds
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hyperic Plugin that reads data from a CSV file?

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to Hyperic plugins and am trying to get my head around the whole thing.

I have written a basic plug-in that just executes the "Ping" command on windows or Unix, for the sake of witting a simple plug-in shell eg. the casing of a plug-in without much logic.

The current aim is to write a plug-in for a webapp, running in a Tomcat 5.5 container.
I considered writing a JMX MBean but this looks quite complicated, and above my understanding at this stage. So I would like to try writing a Hyperic plug-in that can read statistics from a CSV file (which I will get the webapp to generate and update at scheduled intervals eg. 5 min intevals etc.)

To start out I was hoping to find an example somewhere to help me out, and I managed to get a copy of the Zimbra plugin from here:
http://svn.hyperic.com/trunk/plugins/zimbra/?root=Hyperic+HQ

Looking through the plug-in's "hq-plugin.XML" file I noticed the line:
"<plugin type="collector" class="org.hyperic.hq.plugin.zimbra.ZimbraCollector"/>"

Looking at the page below:
http://support.hyperic.com/confluence/display/DOCSHQ31/Plugin+XML+Descriptor

I can only see 4 types of plug-in types available eg.
<config> Tag Attributes:
* type - The plugin type.
o product
o measurement
o control
o responsetime

Are there other plugin types that can be written that aren't documented? eg. collector etc.
Is this just a name that can be called anything, as long as it points to a java class that does something?

Can anyone help me out by providing comments, suggestions, tips, pointers, or links to useful documentation?

All help is really appreciated.

Regards,
Roger
0 Kudos
6 Replies
roger_symonds
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I guess I am aiming to write a Product Plug-in eg.
http://support.hyperic.com/confluence/display/DOCSHQ31/Product+Plugin

Has anyone had any experience with writing one of these?