VMware Cloud Community
Virtually_Jim
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Getting Hyperic to monitor ESXi hosts or vCenter Server

I don't know if I'm in the right place here since I don't see a vFabric Hyperic forum and I'm just starting out on Hyperic as well.

I deployed the vFabric Hyperic 5.0 vApp and am finding the documentation either really bad or just too hard to figure out for a beginner. I'm trying to see what I need to do to have Hyperic monitor vCenter 5.1, VMs and ESXi 5.1 hosts assuming it will do all that.

I read not to install the agent on the vCenter server then read you should install it on the vCenter server. Then I read to install the agent on another computer and edit the agent.properties file but the edits look like they are already there. I also read ESXi will report to Hyperic as is but cant find what I need to do to make that happen. It also seems that you can have the vCenter agent running and then have agents on all the VMs for application monitoring.

If anyone can give me the quickie lesson on what I need to do or point me in the right direction I would appreciate it! Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
5 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

You can install the agent on vCenter but install a Hyperic Agent on a platform that can access vCenter Server over the network. To minimize the load on the vCenter platform, do not install the agent on the same platform as vCenter.

http://pubs.vmware.com/vfabricHyperic50/topic/com.vmware.vfabric.hyperic.5.0/vSphere.html?resultof=%...

Also you can install agents on your VM's, they will monitor your vm.

Yaron

0 Kudos
Virtually_Jim
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I actually got someone from VMware to work with me and do a remote session and we got it figured out... so far.

0 Kudos
Numero1
Contributor
Contributor

Hi there

Iam having the same issue in configuring this out. I am using the HQ (open source) 5.0 and struggling in setting the server to monitor the vmware enviroment, in particular setting up the keystore, etc.