VMware Cloud Community
wjenki1
Contributor
Contributor

Custom Plugin loads but does not display metrics

Hello,

I am new to creating custom plugins and actually attempted to use hyperic support before posting here. If anyone has access to the hyperic Jira at http://jira.hyperic.com, my ticket reference is SUPPORT-3321. We worked on the issue for over 2 weeks before the lady helping me suddenly realized that I didn't have custom plugin support. Regardless, the support given was of very little use. My situation now is that I have a custom plugin that loads through the UI when it is in /home/hyperic/hq-plugins, but does not display metrics. The lady helping me told me it should be in /home/hyperic/agent-3.1.4/pdk/plugins/ only, but that caused stack trace errors (PluginNotFoundException) in the UI. I was wondering if some one could take a look at the attached custom plugin and the associated MIB file and possibly tell me what I may be doing wrong? When I run:

java -jar /home/hyperic/agent-3.1.4/pdk/lib/hq-product.jar -Dplugins.include=sotechProductLS -m discover -a metric -Dlog=debug > outa.txt

I receive:

[DEBUG] MIBTree - Loading MIB: '/usr/share/snmp/mibs/product_nozero.mib.txt': success
[DEBUG] PluginDiscoverer - Set platform.type=sotechProductLS
[DEBUG] PluginDiscoverer - No detector for product
[DEBUG] PluginDiscoverer - Adding Auto Scanners=[]
[DEBUG] Scanner - Running discovery for another platform: sotechProductLS=localhost/127.0.0.1
[WARN] Scanner - No server signatures were found.
[DEBUG] Scanner - Running discovery for another platform: sotechProductLS=localhost/127.0.0.1

The associated outa.txt file contains:

0 servers detected

Any help or guidance will be appreciated.
0 Kudos
27 Replies
jvalkeal_hyperi

It would be nice to see server and agent logs what this plugin is actually trying to do.