VMware Cloud Community
arubio
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Basic concepts

Hi

What is the use of the "Edit Entity Cost" screen?

why assign a pricing model to a entity in a hierarchy?

why there is a range of dates?

I do not understand, because when you generate a report on an entity is when you specify the princing model to use and the date range, right?

then why need to do the assignment to an entity in the other screen?

thanks

0 Kudos
1 Reply
rponomar
Contributor
Contributor

Hi arubio.

I am fairly new to vCenter Chargeback Manager (vCCM) so I've been doing a lot of research on my own and I believe I can answer your questions.

What is the use of the "Edit Entity Cost" screen?

The use of "Edit Entity Cost" is that you can assign a pricing model and a cost template(optional) to a specific hierarchy, parts of a hierarchy, or specific entities (I know you know that, but I just want to give a complete explanation).

Why assign a pricing model to an entity in a hierarchy?

The reason you would might want to do this is if you want to charge specific entities in a hierarchy differently than others.  Why would you charge some entities differently than others you might say?  That would depend on business reasons and how you build your hierarchies.  For example: Some companies may only want to charge their development VMs when they are powered on versus charging their production VMs whether they are powered on or not.  So in this case you can implement different pricing models that have different billing policies in them.

Why is there a range of dates?