VMware Workspace ONE Community
Shoopity
Contributor
Contributor

Unknown Apps

High, I'm relatively new to WS1.  I inherited our setup from my predecessor.  Over the last 2 months, I've noticed a build up of Unknown apps.  That is, if I go to Apps & Books -> Native -> Purchased, ther's regularly a bunch of Apps with a name of Unknown; this is a per-OU thing.

Apparently my predecessor had an SQL query that removes these apps, which I've been running ever couple of weeks.  But I'm curious as to how these "apps" appear?  Are we doing something incorrectly that causes these apps to appear?  Does anyone know where my predecessor got this SQL query, or do you think he was just that good at SQL that he wrote it himself?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
KevinKrumm
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I see the same here - but i never seen a SQL script to remove them

Could be related to this https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/77545?lang=en_US&queryTerm=Custom%20B2B

I'm running 21.0.5.27 but im still seeing those unknown apps and vpp syncing not working from time to time. 

0 Kudos
Shoopity
Contributor
Contributor

I'm currently on 21.5.0.4

That KB definitely looks close, though my app type just says Custom, not Custom B2B.  We've got a lot of hands in the pot, so it could be a matter of people not doing something correctly.  Or it could be a bug.  Thank you for providing the KB though.

I've attached the script I use.  Like I said, I don't know where this came, so run at your own risk.

begin tran
Declare
--@VppAccountID    INT = 15,  ---vppaccount
@CoreUserID        INT = 478 ---one admin coreuserid
-- @CoreUserID 478 = admin ID number as found in the console for an admin account.  Head to https://mdmconsole.asd20.org/AirWatch/#/Admin/List, find a Global admin, and the end of the URL is the ID number.  E.G. https://mdmconsole.asd20.org/AirWatch/Admin/Actions/Edit/478

DECLARE @REAID INT
DECLARE @ConcurrencyID UNIQUEIDENTIFIER 

IF OBJECT_ID('tempdb..#REAIDs', 'U') IS NOT NULL