VMware Workspace ONE Community
JuhiB
Contributor
Contributor

Single app mode in iPads

I want one app to be installed in multiple iPads, like single App mode. These iPads will be transferred in remote locations and I want to update application remotely. I am new to VMWare workspace One, so I don't know much about it. I have read about airwatch agents also but don't know from where to start. I would appreciate if you could guide me to the process/links to achieve this.

Thank you

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
rterakedis
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

JuhiB​ -  Here's the "happy path" on setting this up (assuming these devices will be full-time Single-App Mode:

• Enroll in Apple Business Manager (ABM) and ensure the devices are purchased through Apple (or a reseller) and tied to your ABM customer ID.
  • Set up ABM integrations in Workspace ONE UEM:
    • Set up your automated enrollment profile to enroll the devices to a single basic user (or skip authentication completely depending on your security requirements).  Apply the automated enrollment profile to the correct set of devices.
    • Set up your Location Token from Apple Business Manager and purchase licenses for the app you want in Single App Mode
      • Alternatively, upload the "enterprise app" you'll be distributing for Single App Mode
  • Assign the app to the devices (or the user) using "Device-Based" licensing (so no Apple ID is required).
  • Assign a profile to the iOS devices that set the app into Single App Mode.
  • As needed, update the app (by uploading a new enterprise app, or by telling UEM to check the ABM for a new version.

Once you do that, iOS will handle background updates for the apps by locking out the user from the device while the app updates.  

RicardoPachecoR
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

(few) Words of caution with Single App Mode on iPad with Wi-Fi only -