MaxMuster09
Contributor
Contributor

set vmx in virtual Machine

Jump to solution

Hi,

is it possible, to change the settings in the .vmx-file on the virtual machine?

I want to mount a CD-Image by a shell-script on linux. So is it possible (via vmware-tools), to mount a CD-Image, from which it is possible to start after boot?

The only command i found, was for time-synchronisation:

vmware-guestd --cmd "vmx.set_option synctime 0 1"

Maybe there is also a command for setting CD-Drives?

Thanks a lot, and sorry for my english :smileyblush:

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Setup a PXEBoot Server and scripted installs using it. There is no need to go through the complexity you are trying to use when PXEboot is supported and will do exactly what you desire.


Best regards,
Edward L. Haletky
VMware Communities User Moderator, VMware vExpert 2009
====
Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.
Blue Gears and SearchVMware Pro Blogs -- Top Virtualization Security Links -- Virtualization Security Round Table Podcast

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

There is no way to modify the VMX from within a guest. You can mount cdroms as long as the ISO or CDROM is predefined within the VMX before the VM boots or is defined from without the VM. Why do this when in Linux all you have to do is the following:

mkdir /mnt/iso/NameOfImage

mount -o loop NameOfImage.iso /mnt/iso/NameOfImage

Then the ISO image is readable. There is no need to mount any physical device, etc.


Best regards,
Edward L. Haletky
VMware Communities User Moderator, VMware vExpert 2009
====
Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.
Blue Gears and SearchVMware Pro Blogs -- Top Virtualization Security Links -- Virtualization Security Round Table Podcast

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
MaxMuster09
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

Thank you for your answer.

The Background of my problem is, that i want to create a solution for half-automatic installation of Operating Systems.

I want to create a Template with a little script on startup

The Skript asks e.g. Which OS? Which Architecture? and so on... Behalf on this parameters the script is choosing the right .iso-file and install's it.

The Problem: This iso-File musst also be accessible by the bios, so that it is possible to boot from this iso.

(I am a student at a big company. My Task for this semester is to support the guys in the datacenter.)

0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Setup a PXEBoot Server and scripted installs using it. There is no need to go through the complexity you are trying to use when PXEboot is supported and will do exactly what you desire.


Best regards,
Edward L. Haletky
VMware Communities User Moderator, VMware vExpert 2009
====
Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.
Blue Gears and SearchVMware Pro Blogs -- Top Virtualization Security Links -- Virtualization Security Round Table Podcast

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
vmmeup
Expert
Expert

Not sure if this would be possible using shell scripting, but you can remote mount iso media using the VI toolkit for powershell. You may want to look into utilizing powershell for your project. Your other option as previously stated is to PXE boot and there is a great free apppliance for this called the Ultimate Deployment Applicance (UDA). If getting PXE is not somthing the network guys are cool with and your only trying to automate VM builds you can create a host only network (a network with no physical network interfaces attached)launch the UDA and power your vm's up on the host only and it will never touch your live network thus allowing you to pxe boot your vm's and automate the installaitons.

Sid Smith-----

VCP, VTSP, CCNA, CCA(Xen Server), MCTS Hyper-V & SCVMM08

  • Don't forget to award points for correct and helpful answers.;-)

Sid Smith ----- VCP, VTSP, CCNA, CCA(Xen Server), MCTS Hyper-V & SCVMM08 [http://www.dailyhypervisor.com] - Don't forget to award points for correct and helpful answers. 😉
0 Kudos