VMware Cloud Community
netKid
Contributor
Contributor

iSCSI - ESXi and SAN - Quick and dirty topology for highest bandwidth

I am setting up a couple of Dell servers as ESXi hosts, connected to a Dell SAN for LAB purposes.

I'm new to vmware, but have a fair grip on networking. For now, what I want to accomplish is best possible performence. There's only one switch anyway, so redundancy on port level is just a bonus in this case.
ESXi hosts have 2 NICs that can be used for iSCSI traffic, so I'm thinking 2 Gbps links to the switch. The SAN will be configured with only one controller.
I've looked into how to set up multipathing, but I cant say that i fully understand what is the best and simplest solution in this case.
From my networking experience I immediately thought of LACP for port bundling, but is this a requirement?

🙂

simple topology:

simple_topology.PNG

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Firstly, LACP is only supported with the Enterprise Plus license, on a distributed switch. It's therefore out for a lot of users, especially any "quick and dirty".

NIC teaming is not as effecient as people want to think it is. Your one host talking to one SAN will only ever use one NIC - unless you use multipathing.

There are plenty of multipathing guides out there easily googled. That's the solution you want.

netKid
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks, Josh. Actually have the correct license for LACP, but wanted to keep it simple, and gain best performance - so I'll stick to multipathing.

0 Kudos
hstagner
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

There is not enough information here to tell you definitively what is the correct design for your environment. However, here are some general tips.