VMware Cloud Community
Puntoboy
Contributor
Contributor

Why pay for VMware?

Hello,

I'm sure this is has been asked hundreds of times before, but I'm having problems finding a clear answer.

I've approached my manager asking for him to for a licence for VMWare Workstation as it would greatly benefit me in my job. I've explained how it will benefit me and he agrees it would be a good tool for me to have. I'm a desktop support engineer primarily, rolling out workstation images, configuring clients etc. but I also do server builds and I'm gradually moving towards doing more server based work. Having various VM's on my laptop for testing and deployment purposes is a great thing to have. My manager has now asked me why I can't use VM Server for this as it's a free licence. So far, the only real answer I can give him is the snap shots side of things, but I can't seem to find anything other clear reason why I can't use Server.

I've read that Workstation runs per user and that Server runs as a service so will remain running whether someone is logged on or not, but that doesn't bother me at all as I'll only be using the VM's when I'm physically sat infront of my laptop. This isn't really a reason not to have Server as I see it. I've also read that Workstation is optimised for single user use and will run better that Server on my laptop.

So what actually reasons can I give him for me having Workstation or should I noth bother and go with Server?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

0 Kudos
9 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Server (AFAIK) does not support multiple snapshots or cloning (there are more features it's missing, like Record/Replay, multiple guest monitors, newer features like USB 2, and better interactive performance, but they probably aren't as important to you).

However, since Server is free and is compatible with Workstation (which also has a free trial) if you later want to upgrade, I'd recommend you try both and see which suits your needs better.

0 Kudos