VMware Cloud Community
jonsilver
Contributor
Contributor

What is important to document concerning disk IO

We are offering our product in a virtualized environment. We can specify the amount of CPU, ram and Disk,

but do we not also need to document the required disk bandwidth (throughput) needed for I/O.

Assuming that the customer installs using a SANs, then I'm guessing that they would need this data, otherwise, our solution could die or

kill their network?? I'm pretty new to this so I'm trying to understand what we need to document and how to derive those numbers.

I looked at windows perfmon, but it does not really provide me with what I thought that we needed; Do I publish

logical Disk.Disk Transfers/sec, logical Disk.Disk Write Bytes/sec and logical Disk.Disk read Bytes/sec and then is that all?

thanks,

jon

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

jonsilver wrote:

We are offering our product in a virtualized environment. We can specify the amount of CPU, ram and Disk,

but do we not also need to document the required disk bandwidth (throughput) needed for I/O.

Assuming that the customer installs using a SANs, then I'm guessing that they would need this data, otherwise, our solution could die or

kill their network?? I'm pretty new to this so I'm trying to understand what we need to document and how to derive those numbers.

I looked at windows perfmon, but it does not really provide me with what I thought that we needed; Do I publish

logical Disk.Disk Transfers/sec, logical Disk.Disk Write Bytes/sec and logical Disk.Disk read Bytes/sec and then is that all?

thanks,

jon

Can you clarify this - are you basically writing a "minimum specs" guide for your app, so that a customer can install it in a virtual environment?

The answer in general would be:

* No you can't kill their network, what does disk IO have to do with that? Unless of course your app for some reason generates BPDU packets.....