VMware Cloud Community
ggeorgi
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMWARE Begginers Clustering Question

Hi all,

As you can understand,I am new to the Vwmare Clustering Theory and Implemantation..... I have some simple questions to ask:

1. I was reading about Virtual Center, HA and DRS and from what i understood, we have 2 or more physical and clustered (in ESX level) machines (nodes). If a physical machine goes off, ESX boot these virtual machines in the other physical machine. Am I correct?

2. What happens if a virtual machine fails or become curropted? We do not have redudancy in this senario? Do we have other options for clustering and redudancy to avoid such failures?

Thank you all in advance!!!

George Georgiadis

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rschmidt1300
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

You could implement third party clustering (i.e. Microsoft Cluster Services) between two virtual machines to give you a level of redundancy in the event of a vm failure.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
arisaperstein
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

You are correct in your understanding for question 1.

you will need to backup your vmdk's (and config files)seperatly in order to protect against corruption. There are several software solutions for this. VCB is one, ESX Ranger is another.

rschmidt1300
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

You could implement third party clustering (i.e. Microsoft Cluster Services) between two virtual machines to give you a level of redundancy in the event of a vm failure.

0 Kudos
hicksnestle
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

For #1, use esXpress or Commvault.

ggeorgi
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thank you for your immediate answers and help.......

I would like to make some further questions: