VMware Cloud Community
psv
Contributor
Contributor

URGENT : VMWare HA -Functionality Query

Hello All,

I am new to to Virtualization Arena. We are evaluating VMware HA functionality for telco grade mission critical applications(availability and reliability requirements 99.999%).

I have following queries.

1). Is it possible to monitor particular applications/ process through VMWare HA. Are there any options to monitor selective processes.

2). Is it possible to configure number of local restarts for a process/service, before making a decision to move to another virtual machine.

3). Is it possible to have active-active/Hot-standby Configuration without restarting the VM & application as another VM. ie when the particular applications/process fails, we should be able to point to another VM, the application should continue from the last point of failure.

4). Does VMWare HA provides any checkpointing mechanism to preseve the in-memory data?

Appreciate your valuable inputs.

Regards,

Vijay

0 Kudos
4 Replies
FredPeterson
Expert
Expert

VMWare HA is primarily a means to power back up a VM that has failed due to the host server crashing. The newer 3.5 features of monitoring a VM internally do not delve into the specifics you are looking for.

As for an Active / Active type of VM setup - that is a future function called Continuous Availability much like what Marathon offers - http://www.marathontechnologies.com/product_faqs.html, but completely outside of there being 3rd party software. If host A goes down - rather then restart VM A on Host B- VM B on Host B that was the Continuous Availability partner picks up almost immediately as if nothing happened. I have no idea on ETA for that.

Yattong
Expert
Expert

Sadly Vmware HA, High Availability is not what we have become accustomed to.