VMware Cloud Community
kaleems
Contributor
Contributor

Transporting Virtual Machines

Hi,

Please forgive me if this is the wrong forum to post to.

I currently have two setups:

VM Ware ESX 2.5.1 (test)

VM Ware ESX 3.0.1 (live)

I am completely new to VM Ware and have just been given the task of trying to figure it out.

What I need to do is be able to take a machine of our ESX 2.5.1 Server and then put it on to a removable drive so we can then take this VM to another company and import it and power it on.

Also this company needs to export one of their machines so I can load it into our infrastructure.

I have been trying to look around for answers and keep coming up with VMKFSTOOLS - but don't know what it is or how to use it.

So I need to know how to do the following:

1) Export one of my esx 2.5.1 VM to a disk and take it to another company

2) Import the 2.5.1 VM into the other company running ESX 2.5.1 and power it on.

3) Export/Import VM into/from our ESX 3.01 Infrastructure.

If anyone could advise how to do what I need to do or maybe send me to some url where i can find the documentation on how to do this - I will be very very greatful.

Regards

Kaleem

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Ken_Cline
Champion
Champion

Look at VMware Converter[/url] - it's free and will do the job for you simply.

Ken Cline VMware vExpert 2009 VMware Communities User Moderator Blogging at: http://KensVirtualReality.wordpress.com/
0 Kudos
kaleems
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for your response, i have already tried that but didnt do the job.

Also how do i get the Virtual Machine which i have on a removable drive uploaded?

0 Kudos
rschmidt1300
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

kaleems,

There may be easier ways to do this but this should work:

1. - Export the vmdk disk file using vmkfstools

- Attach your removable disk to another machine on the network

- Copy the exported files from the ESX Host to your removable drive using something like WINSCP