VMware Cloud Community
tsmerian
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Server Racks Half Full???

Just wondering if any of my fellow peers have encountered this one...

Our building facilities group is making a move to only fill our servers racks to half capacity. They claim that the reason for doing so is to cut down on the amount of heat concentrated in a small area.

Now I'm no HVAC expert, but my BS detector is going off here... While I'll admit that it may disperse the heat, it doesn't cut down on the total amount of BTUs generated. We currently use 42U racks (those are the most common right?), and standing behind a full rack of them will make you sweat, but we are not getting any temp alerts on any servers. Our group claims that they have been to seminars that suggest the practice of using half capacity racks.

I'm asking if anyone out there is doing this... It seems very discouraging to think of using up all the floor space that I helped to free up (with virtualization) in the datacenter by only filling up racks half way!

Theo

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
esiebert7625
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

A proper data center design consists of hot aisles and cold aisles. If you have proper cooling and ventilation and your vent tiles in the right spots you should not have any issues providing you have enough cooling capacity for the amount of heat your systems generate. Filling up racks half-way is just a waste of space. The below doc illustrates this...

http://docs.sun.com/source/816-1613-14/Chapter3.html

Eric Siebert

VMware Communities User Moderator

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Visit my website:

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Grasshopper75
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

BS is right.

The only reason I could see someone doing this is to disperse weight not heat. We have an issue with weight in our datacentre because of the weight on the floor and building structure.