VMware Cloud Community
paulsol
Contributor
Contributor

NetApp or Equalogic??

Hi,

We are about to implement VMWARE to virtualise approximately 50 servers and part of this project will be to replace our current aging SAN.

As well as VMWARE the new SAN will be hosting a 2000 mailbox Exchange 2003 cluster and a Windows 2003 file cluster with user shares and roaming profiles.

Our requirements have gone out to market and basically the following solutions are proposed:-

NetApp

\----

FAS270 HA Bundle (300GB FC Drives) on Primary Site

FAS270 (500GB SATA Drives) on Secondary Site

iSCSI Implementation

SnapMirror Software

SnapDrive Software

SnapManager for Exchange

SnapManager for SQL

Equalogic

\----

2x PS 3600X (300GB SAS Drives) One on Primary Site / One on Secondary Site

Does anyone have any comments on these two storage solutions and what problems, advice and recommendations can you all give.

Regards

0 Kudos
8 Replies
AustinPowers
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I have no experience with NetApp, but I can tell you that EqualLogic is EASY to install, configure, and use. They advertise 20 minutes from power up to populating a new SAN volume, and that was just about how long it took. And I was a SAN newbie. They have great tech support that knows VMware too. I can unequivocally recommend EqualLogic.

And the cloning feature of the PS arrays makes volume replication to your DR unit a snap.

0 Kudos
Jae_Ellers
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

The NetApps are very solid boxes. NetApp does choose to charge you extra for many features. NetApps are easy to setup and configure as well.

I don't think I could be serving 14 shelves 20 minutes after the boxes arrive, but I could serve 14 shelves 20 minutes after they were racked.

That being said, I'd get your best Equalogic quote and go to NetApp and see what they can do.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- http://blog.mr-vm.com http://www.vmprofessional.com -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
0 Kudos
stisidore
Enthusiast
Enthusiast