VMware Cloud Community
InaVirtualDaze
Contributor
Contributor

why won't vista install in a virtual hard drive

I am new to using virtual Machine Ware. However I am struggling to understand just how and why things don't install like as if a virtual hard drive was an actual hard drive. For example, I create the virtual machine and start to install Vista. The files all download to the VM and I am given a choice of drives to install to. All my drives apart from the main drive are USB ports. However after setup files down load and I choose the partition to install to I get an error message telling me that windows doesn'' t recognise the drives and that maybe third party software could be the problem.

Also when I install using my dos floppies I can only use the first install disk. when the second floppy is put into the A drive the VM can't read the floppy and the installation fails. It isn't the disks because I've checked & done an install done to a normal hard drive and no problems.

The tech speak for this VM Ware Machine is that this is the greatest thing since sliced bread. What this form of computer use needs is to be be more user friendly.

Nothing about this technology is easy for the average computer user to use and I think it would benefit from a lot more wizards that simplify the whole process.At the moment I am totally confused by this medium, but I can see the advantages of running in virtual mode, but it just doesn't deliver.

Well maybe it does for all those Techies out there that live and breathe this technology but for the average punter this is all just too hard.

I want to install to a virtual drive that installs just as if it was a normal drive. I mean isn't that what it's supposed to be, or am i being too simplistic.

InaVirtualDaze

0 Kudos
6 Replies
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

...All my drives apart from the main drive are USB ports....