VMware Cloud Community
czh09
Contributor
Contributor

how to connect to guest machine, so that i can transfer files over?

hi.. i current have VMWare Workstation installed on my Windows XP Desktop (Host). The guest installed on my VMWare is Solaris 10. I would like to copy some files over to the guest solaris 10 "machine".

I have done my search on google, but the results returned has only confused me. can anyone help me? this is the first time i'm using vmware, and I have little or not knowledge on how to do this.

thanks! Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
13 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Forums - you could treat your VM like a regular Solaris box and use SCP -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
czh09
Contributor
Contributor

hi.. i tried to use scp command, but it says "Network is unreachable."

i cant seem to ping any of the machines on the network too.

0 Kudos
Saadat
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

What kind of Network connection are you using? You can check this by clicking on "edit virtual machine setting" and selecting your network adapter.

Try bridged and see if it works for you.

http://www.linkedin.com/in/ernestsaadat
0 Kudos
czh09
Contributor
Contributor

hi... i tried to use Bridge already. this is what i see when i do a ifconfig.

i'm still new to unix environment. understand that 127.0.0.1 is localhost. is this normal? how do i assign an ip address to the guest instance?

#ifconfig -a

lo0: flags=2001000849<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST,IPv4,VIRTUAL> mtu 8232 indix 1

inet 127.0.0.1 netmask ff000000

0 Kudos
czh09
Contributor
Contributor

hi... i tried to use Bridge already. this is what i see when i do a ifconfig.