VMware Cloud Community
m0l0t0k
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare image to real PC.

I`m sorry, but i don`t find about this requaest. How to do corect, if I have VMware image it`s LINUX system.

And how to move my image or my system LINUX on REAL PC.

May be clone bay be others ways. I`ts meens Vmware work corect and i have to move or clone my system to real hardaware.

Best Regards Konstantins.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
GlennBrett
Contributor
Contributor

Morning Konstantins,

Firstly, I am far from a VMware expert and I am not certain I fully understand the question.

However, your Virtual Server is a real server as far as the OS you have installed and the programs you are running on it.

With this in mind, I would have thought you could use any of the commercially available software to clone a physical PC (Norton Ghost, perhaps).

0 Kudos
bulletprooffool
Champion
Champion

To go from V2P your will need third party software.

try powerconvert from platespin.

One day I will virtualise myself . . .
0 Kudos
m0l0t0k
Contributor
Contributor

I`am sorry if not correct to write my request.

But the last answer by , i`am try ti this powerconvert.

Yes, i want covert vmware to physical computer.

And i try by Norton GHOST, but how to mount HDD or Extrnal HDD where i must save my ghost file?

0 Kudos
A_Mikkelsen
Expert
Expert

If you don't have VMware Workstation download it (using a trial license) and add the VM to inventory.

Configure the VM to boot from CD and mount a BartPE image (with ghost installed)

Mount a network share

Place the created om the network share

When the image is done boot the physical server with BartPE and restore the ghost from the network location

I'm not a Linux expert so how Linux will responde to the new HW i don't know.

But I would use PowerConvert for this operational if I was you, they know how to handle the convertion, and you should be able to obtain a trial license.